- Can you hit the opposite ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Does a ball have to hit the wall in pool?
- Do you lose in pool if you miss the 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
- What does an 8 ball stand for?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Can you hit the opposite ball in pool?
Yes, when your cue ball make contact with your own object ball, it can make contact with opponent object ball..
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Does a ball have to hit the wall in pool?
A rail must be hit by either the cue ball or any other ball after the cue ball contacts the object ball. A pocketed ball counts as a rail. A sentence that should answer many questions is: “ANY ball must go to a rail AFTER LEGAL contact unless your ball is made.”
Do you lose in pool if you miss the 8 ball?
Missing the 8 ball, not hitting the 8 ball first or even sinking the cue ball on a shot at the 8 ball is NOT a loss under official 8 ball rules (unless you also sink the 8 ball) despite popular belief.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. … If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH). If you make a fault, you are punished. The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing.
What does an 8 ball stand for?
An 8 ball is one eighth of an ounce of a drug (usually cocaine). It can also refer to a mix of crack-cocaine and heroin as well as the malt-liquor brand Olde English 800. Sometimes, it can act as a derogatory term for a black person.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.